EMDR stands for Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing.

It is an evidence-based treatment for children, teens, and adults. EMDR can reduce and even eliminate the disturbing thoughts and emotions, and physical sensations associated with difficult past experiences.

EMDR consists of eight phases and Three Prongs. The eight phases of EMDR therapy encompass the entire course of therapeutic work with a client, from the intake session to completion/termination. This treatment could range from a few sessions (single-incident trauma) to several years of treatment (complex PTSD). The standard EMDR protocol consists of phases 3 through 7 and is the sequence of steps taken in one single EMDR therapy session. This sequence is repeated with different targets until the client’s issues are resolved and treatment is complete.

To learn more about EMDR visit About EMDR Therapy


  • Generalized Anxiety Disorder
  • Depression
  • Addictions including substances and behavioral
  • Grief
  • Panic Disorder
  • Phobias
  • Performance Anxiety
  • Psychotic Disorders
  • Chronic Pain, including Fibromyalgia and Migraine Headaches
  • Phantom Limb Pain
  • Body Dysmorphic Disorder
  • Trauma
  • PTSD

Flash Technique

Flash Technique is an evidence based therapeutic intervention that reduces the disturbance associated with traumatic memories. Its technique is a gentler approach to healing from traumatic memories that focuses on more hopeful moments, all while processing through your distressing thoughts at the same time. Flash Technique is minimally intrusive and does not require the client to consciously engage with a traumatic memory. It can be provided as an EMDR preparation phase or a stand-alone session. Flash Technique helps the client process memories that would otherwise be intolerable. To see videos of the creator, Dr. Manfield, using FT with actual clients, click here.

An appropriate target for Flash Technique is something that is moderately disturbing:

  • Anything referenced in the Adverse Childhood Events scale
  • Incident involving major shame, guilt, fear, sadness, sibling relationship rupture, or separation
  • Relationship loss or rejection (If no feeder)
  • Loss/death, person or animal; betrayal, helplessness
  • Loss of friends, new school/house. getting lost, changing jobs, separation from colleagues
  • Assaults or violence (witnessing or experiencing)
  • Hospitalizations, injuries or anything involving intense pain
  • Natural or man-made disaster
  • Nightmares
  • A failure
  • A scene from movie
  • Legal conflict

Talk Therapy (Psychotherapy)

Talk therapy (psychotherapy) is the practice of speaking with a mental health professional to communicate and work through issues/concerns. The primary forms of talk therapy we use in our practice are, but not limited to: Cognitive Behavioral Therapy and Trauma-focused DBT, Acceptance, and Commitment Therapy, Dialectical Behavior Therapy.

To help with:

  • Grief/Bereavement
  • Substance Use
  • Chronic Pain
  • Terminal Illnesses
  • Anger Management
  • Anxiety
  • Boundaries
  • Communication
  • Mood Disorders
  • Independent living skills
  • Life transitions
  • Relationship conflict
  • Self-Esteem
  • Trauma
  • PTSD

Counseling services will follow the professional and ethical responsibilities as deemed appropriate by the ACA 

Office Hours

- Wednesday 8am-5pm
Disclaimer:  The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as healthcare advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an healthcare professional-client relationship. We do our best to keep information accurate and up to date, however mistakes do happen, and we cannot make guarantees regarding the accuracy of our information. We are not liable for any information on this website or your reliance upon it.